Skip to main content

No time to think

· 6 min read

Since Diagrams: Show Me has gotten popular, first the Plugin, now the GPT, I have been meeting with more people - people reach out to me suggesting to work together, to chat, to discuss something.

[Autocompleted by copilot] I have been trying to be open to these interactions, but I have noticed that some of them are not going anywhere. I am not sure if I am doing something wrong, or if it is just the nature of things. I have been thinking about what to do about these interactions. [tab complete ended]

Copilot is annoying - its like propoganda that skips the thinking process alltogether. It appears as if you though it. This is a very basic observation. It is also a roast on your own thoughts and continuasly reminding us that the machines are about to take over. I read what it output and think - fuck, that might have been roughly what I would think - I just didn't have enough time to think that yet. Its a little undermining devil always 100s of tokes ahead of you.

Continuing original thought after disabling copilot.

Most new contacts don't go anywhere. I have gotten more agressive with filtering who I meet with, but the main filter is basically how much do you want to meet? Are you opened to us laying more cards on the table before hopping on a call? People usually are. During the call people sound excited, with next steps to take roughly planned out.

I met with a pharmacist who wanted to create diagrams for doctors which they can use as references when diagnosing / performing some procedure / administering treatment. Like build your own chains aka sweet greens having print outs showing how to make different stock salads glued above the prepped ingreedient trays. Great fucking idea! We talked, I made a couple of suggestions, basically criticising their current approach, they left saying they will reach out back to me in a week or two.

Months have gone by. I will never hear from them again. What happened? I am not invested enough to find out.

Next. Friends of my family and parents of a good old friend of mine. Reached out - want to sell / build a team making eterprise AI solutions. I have suggested they focus on sales. Said I am interested but it will be hard to afford me at this time. I only sell out for a high price as I am fortunate enough to have little responsibilities in my life and be sitting on a minor stash from the previous ludicrous rental of my skills.

I suggest they talk to my brother about sales. I let the brother know. Nothing happens as far as I know. We spent an hour talking. Maybe more. We were totally fine spending 3 people hours on this - and also totally fine to not have any followup actions.

Similar frustration comes up when I realize how little I postprocess on the entertainment in my life. I want a movie. At best I will discuss this with a friend. At best. Most of the movies / shows I have watched by myself - and you won't see any reflection there. I have been trying to break that habbit lately by messaging self on telegram with a short review on the movie. You will say - well movies and shows is when I try to enjoy the moment, relax - let the fucking screenwriters worry about breaking that shit down into pieces and spitting it at one another [I mean it in the best possible way, spitting is fun]. The problem is - this is a pattern that just shows up everywhere I look in my life. And I have a feeling this shows up in most people's lifes. This reminds me of the sick system essay / blog post my friends introduced me to suggesting my relationship was a sick system, but thats another story. The point is - we jump from meeting to meeting, from movie to movie, from task to task, thought to tought, X to Y, not X, reflect(X) |> ideallyPersist, Y. The interactions have a dead end because for them not to, we need to reflect, figure what do we want to do - do we choose to continue or do we choose to put a period. Either way, my strong belief is we should reflect. Without the reflection piece I believe I have went on with my life with this thing nagging me - yes, that thing, is totally happening, you did well, there is still a chance it will flourish. Wrong. It died. Silently. Without dignity. As my brother and I would say in the end of a PUBG or Population One match spent looting and then dying in our first and last encounter of the match with the winner - "besslavnaya katka". Yes, this analogy is "podtianutaya za ushi", but I don't give a fuck - its my blog. Yo.

There is a whole other question of why we don't reflect. Why I don't reflect. Its tedious, its not a habbit. People around us don't do it, so its not culturally engrained in us. [Hook] to pull more thoughts.

So lets reflect. Jesus I almost missed this step. See what I am talking about!! This is what I have to deal with all the time.

I don't allocate time to reflecting post doing something. This prevented me from critically thinking about my next step. Changing this behavior is hard - any habbit is hard to aquire, and this one is one of the all encompasing, almost life philosophy ones. This class of habbits is the hardest in my book. I am slowly making strides in the right direction. The whole blog idea - is basically that - reflecting in written form. Allocating time to think. Thinking with the help of a canvas to prevent magical thinking, improve idea recall etc etc.

What can I do to reflect more?

  • Set this as one of the year goals? This year I will reflect the shit out of my activities. Again. Don't over do it.

    • I had versions of this - go write it out (tomorrow, its already late, enough of the reflecting and thinking how to improve this process)
  • Reflection is triggered by a thought provoking activity. Today I started reflecting with the movie Dune 2. I started writing down my thoughts on the movie. I don't even remember how the thought of this article came about

    • So when down - do a provocative activity
    • Next - do nothing - meditate fucker - that next movie, game, [distracting activity] wants to eat you alive, it wants to keep the sick system running, it wants you busy. Take a pause. Do nothing. This has worked for you many of times. Is one of the main suggestions from your therapy sessions.
  • Write a program to help me with this post activity reflections? Motion assistant should be a good fit for this

[product] timed self message prank

· 2 min read

I came up with an idea to schedule a message that would be sent to yourself from a known number after a specified amount of time.

For example, let's say you're about to meet someone and you want to receive a provocative message on your CarPlay after you meet them, they would notice it and you can use that for a variety prank scenarios. It could be a message from a pre-named contact (a fixed service twilio number), like "Hey, what are you up to?" or "Thank you for leaving your number with me yesterday, I had a great time." This prank can add some excitement to your interaction and spark a funny conversation.

You should always disclose after the fact that it was a prank, and generally think if the prank is appropriate for the situation.

Implementation

  • Create 1-2 service accounts on twilio. One to message with commands and another to send the scheduled message to yourself. 2 if you want to keep a 'clean' number for the prank so you could also open the conversation on your phone and show the full history to the person you're pranking, otherwise the fact you scheduled the message will be visible.
  • Evaluate if twilio's workflow builder is powerful to implement the whole thing. If not, I belive you can deploy a javascript script to twilio to handle the scheduling and sending of the message.
  • When the 'command' number recieves a message
    • Parse it: schedule 10min "Hey, what are you up to?" and schedule the message to be sent to yourself in 1 hour. or help to get a list of commands.
    • Schedule
    • Prank responsibly!

Alternatives

Airtable extension to generate plausible fake usage

· One min read

The idea came to me when designing, and redesigning and redesigning the Airtable base for my dad's car business.

I have desined the schema. Then tried to actually run through the flows and see how it would work. Then I realized some flaws in the schema and redesigned it. Then I tried to run through the flows again. And again. And again.

What if an LLM were to generate plausible fake usage? It would be a great way to test the design of the schema. It would help uncover flaws faster and more efficiently.

Product - Airtable extension that generates plausible fake usage given a base.

Porridge + Sides. Great for cooking with friends.

· 7 min read

[Docusaurus ignores the first header]

Porridge with sides

Inspiration: Repeat trip to Taiwan Porridge in Cupertino: https://maps.app.goo.gl/BwiSEV3XsVqxoUFH8

I loved:

  • How simple and flavorless the base is: its just rice and water
  • How savory the sides are: pork, bok choy, cucumber salad
  • The texture of the tofu noodles - they were very tender and pleasing to chew, unlike any other noodles I've had
  • In general I'm a sucker for mixing things together to taste for each bite, and this dish is perfect for that

My friend and I have been trying to meet more people and just in general socialize more, so we've been inviting people over for dinner. We would pick a recipe from one of the blue apron ones left from previous tenants. We wait for the guests to show up and then cook it altogether. Usually 4 max 6 people show up, this time we maxed out what the invites and pretty much everyone showed up with a crazy turnout off 12 people. I'm glad we pick this recipe because we had a lot of independent dishes that different people could be working on in parallel. Anyways posting this recipe here because I'm trying to get in the habit of posting written content, and I have already prepared the recipe section of the post to print out and give to people who came over.

Congee

https://www.ediblecommunities.com/recipes/the-best-congee/

4 servings ½ cup medium-grain rice

Maybe do a sweet-potato version?

Instructions

  • Prepare a steamer. Cut in 1 cube inch pieces. Steam sweet potatoes for 15 minutes.
  • Put the rice in a large pot. Add water to the pot. The more water you use, the thinner your porridge will be. I start with a 12:1 ratio—so six cups of water for this amount of rice—but if you like a thicker porridge, you can use as little as an 8:1 ratio.
  • Bring to a boil and then lower the heat to a slow simmer. Stir the pot every so often so that the rice doesn’t stick to the bottom. After about fifteen minutes, the rice will look fully cooked. After half an hour, the grains will plump up to about five times their original size, but the mixture will still be fairly watery. After about 45 minutes, the porridge should reach a smooth, silky, creamy consistency. That’s when you know you’re done. (It’s a forgiving recipe. If the congee looks too thick, add some more water and let it cook down for a few more minutes. If it looks too thin and soupy, just cook until it thickens some more.)
  • Combine the sweet potatoes with the congee. Should not be seasoned - sides are heavily seasoned (hopefully).

Pork

https://yireservation.com/recipes/congee-with-minced-pork/

½ LB minced pork 1 slice ginger ½ tbsp Salt and pepper ¼ cup water 3 teaspoons sesame oil

Prepare the pork by mixing the minced pork with all the pork ingredients except the water. Add water slowly to the pork while stir the minced pork with a spoon in the same direction. Stop adding the water when the pork becomes lighter and well incorporated with water.

Bok choy

https://www.madewithlau.com/recipes/stir-fried-bok-choy See website - has best instructions with videos

(8 servings) 2 lb baby bok choy (larger bok choy works too) 4 clove garlic 4 tbsp corn oil 1 tsp salt 1 tsp sugar 1 tsp chicken bouillon (optional)

Instructions

  • Peel away each individual stem, and toss them into a bowl of large water

  • Scrub your fingers along the bottom of each stem closest to the root. Dirt usually accumulates here.

  • Rinse under running water.

  • Drain the bok choy (1 lb) in a colander, and lay them flat onto a towel. It's important that we dry them before stir-frying.

  • We'll be trimming the bok choy by cutting the stems in half length-wise.

  • We can also optionally separate the leaves from the stalk. Sometimes my dad prefers to cook the stalks first, and then the leaves.

  • Heat the wok on high heat for 2-3 minutes.

  • While the wok heats up, we'll mince some garlic (2 clove).

  • Then, add corn oil (2 tbsp) until the oil is shimmering, or forming ripples across the surface.

  • It's important that the wok and oil get sufficiently hot.

  • Add the minced garlic, and then the bok choy stalks a few seconds later. Then, add the rest of the bok choy.

  • We'll be cooking everything for 6-8 minutes. We're looking for the stalks to soften a bit and the leaves to turn a more deep, vibrant green.

  • Right before we finish cooking, we'll add our salt (0.50 tsp), sugar (0.50 tsp), and chicken bouillon (0.50 tsp) (optional).

  • Especially for the salt and chicken bouillon, it's important to add this at the very end before plating, since they'll instantly start causing the bok choy to release moisture.

To stop the bok choy from overcooking, we'll want to transfer them onto a plate immediately.

Cucumber Salad

https://farahjeats.com/recipe/easy-asian-cucumber-salad/

Persian cucumbers Salt Sesame oil Light soy sauce Sugar Rice vinegar Chili oil Sesame seeds

Instricutions

  • Rinse and slice one end of the cucumber at an angle.
  • Continue slicing at an angle. Slices should look more oval than round. Thickness should be up to preference.
  • Add to a bowl/container and sprinkle 1/2 tsp of salt.
  • Mix that well and refrigerate for at least 20 minutes to draw out the water.
  • Drain the water and give the cucumbers a quick 10 seconds rinse before returning back to the bowl/container.
  • Add sesame oil, light soy sauce, sugar, rice vinegar, chili oil and sesame seeds.
  • Stir until well combined and serve. Enjoy!

Extra credit

  • Sweat the cucumbers – Season the sliced cucumbers in a bit of salt and refrigerate for 20 minutes to 1 hour, then drain the water. The salt will draw out the excess moisture from the cucumbers – effectively “sweating” them – which leaves the cucumbers crunchy. This helps to prevent the salad from ending up in a pool of liquid with a watery dressing.

Tofu noodles

ChatGPT - wasn't able to find plain recepie

"Tofu Shirataki" noodles or "Tofu Noodles"

  • Rinse: Open the package and rinse the noodles thoroughly under cold water. This step is important to remove the liquid they are packed in, which sometimes has a strong odor.
  • Boil: Boil the noodles for 2-3 minutes. This helps to further remove any unwanted taste and improves texture.
  • Dry and Sauté (Optional): To give them a more noodle-like texture, after boiling, drain them and then sauté in a dry pan for a few minutes. This step dries them out and improves their texture.
  • Seasoning (Optional): While these noodles are great plain, especially as a side for congee, you can lightly season them with salt, soy sauce, or a dash of sesame oil if desired. However, if you prefer them plain as you mentioned, feel free to skip this step.
    • I think sesamie oil will work great!

Shoping list

Produce Section

  • Sweet Potatoes: 2-3 medium-sized (optional for congee)
  • Baby Bok Choy: 4 pounds
  • Persian Cucumbers: 9-10
  • Garlic: 8 cloves
  • Ginger: 2 slices
  • Green Onions: a small bunch
  • Shallots: 2 medium-sized

Rice & Grains

  • Medium-Grain Rice: 1 cup

Meat Section

  • Minced Pork: 2 pounds

Refrigerated Section

  • Tofu Shirataki Noodles / Tofu Noodles: 4-5 packages
  • Kimchi: 1-2 jars

Oils, Vinegars, & Condiments

  • Sesame Oil
  • Light Soy Sauce
  • Rice Vinegar
  • Chili Oil (Optional)

Spices & Seasonings

  • Chicken Bouillon (Optional)
  • Sesame Seeds
  • Pork Stock Powder

Cooking Oils

  • Corn Oil

[Drafts]

· 19 min read

I have set out to make a single blog post, but when I actually sat down to write, the outcome were some topics and drafts I thought would be interesting to write about. I have decided to publish these drafts as is, and maybe one day I will come back to them and finish them. I have also decided to keep this post as a living document, and add more drafts to it as I write them.

Coding assistant space review?

Etiquette == waste

Etiquette is a filter, a transformation you apply to the raw message you want to deliver. Related concepts - saving face, being caring on a personal level, avoiding bad interpretations preventing things at work from getting personal.

Shit storm of summaries

This is not a new idea. Enshitification concept existed before the LLMs. People are concerned low quality content is poluting the public internet.

Will the same thing happen internally in companies? (what thing exactly? I have not described it here at all).

Changing things you do is hard

the behavior how do you go about

notebook try it out there 50 people, linked in

pitch ground, distribution partners

Do I look for features that people will look for

When he talks to users I validate those things. ChatGPT for Emotional state

https://sshussain270.medium.com/how-i-land-a-meeting-with-any-target-customer-i-want-381b59c41f86

package.json SUCKS ASS

  • Does not allow comments
    • And there are people very much against adding this - jezz surely there is a way to support it, maybe add an environement variable to configure this behavior and everyone will be happy
  • npm Reorders all the keys / values
  • Maybe configure eslint to format json nicely?
  • I can't even put a space between the lines without it being formatted away!
  • Maybe make a stupid extension that will maintain the source of truth package.json with comments, nice organization without re-ordering the keys?
    • package.json.pretty .pretty .with-comments
    • maybe even show the library size, stars, github link and shit

Row level security - how does it actually work?

I wanted to not write sql for my supabase project (mostly for auth + nextjs integrations) and wanted the schema to generate nice autocomplete queries for me. So I was looking into Prisma. Turns out quite a bit of pain needs to be endured to get it to work with supabase.

Also having RLS is essential for accessing directly from client, but not really from server.

https://medium.com/@ngoctranfire/using-prisma-with-supabase-row-level-security-and-multi-schema-7c53418adba3

Even the author suggests agains this approach.

Why I want supabase

  • Its popular so will have higher chance of using discovering the template
  • I want simple auth setup

Nice in supabase, but not required

  • Query database directly from client - less API calls
    • We can still do this though!

Why more api calls are a problem - they are not type safe, unless another rpc typed framework is used. Found remult https://remult.dev/tutorials/react-next/

What sucks in supabase

  • Have schema.sql, but have also migrations
    • Migrations as source of truth - we need them no matter what, and generate schema.sql from gp_dump or maybe supabase has helpers to dump

Why am I so attached to using supabase?

Prisma rls can be added without pulling in the auth schema :D

  • All we need to do is to inject the right settings into the transaction using defineExtension like in the god send tutorial
    • If we wanted to get deeper we could check raw sql executed against our supabase db and see how the supabase client sets the right settings
  • Not adding auth.users we are loosing on the constraints with foreign keys

Drizzle rls, supabase - worse than prisma lol

Merge original original + prompt or amend merge commit + prompt?

We copy shit ALL THE TIME. Copiying with GPT became so much faster. It now allows copying a mix from two sources - blending. BLENDING.

We scavanger github for projects that have good properties and combine them together. Sometimes combination goes sour and its better to re-combine them again. Other times it goes okaish and we keep amending the result. How do you decide when to do so?

Would be neat to have a gpt based iterative tool to merge good properties from 2 repos into a new repo.

Anxious development style

This kind of goes against the idea off extreme single tasking being the most productive way work. It's very hard to keep track of how much progress you're actually making towards the individual ideas. You basically just jump around multiple small projects while new ideas are popping up into your head, or while you find common grounds between different projects and draw common dependencies. At that point you decide to create a boilerplate starter project for for the clout on GitHub.

I have been giving a lot of shit to max and idea for this style and suggesting shipping things faster instead by focusing on that one single thing at a time. Yet I don't seem to be practicing those myself. It seems like my strategy has changed at least for the time being. The strategy is not having a vector of direction in trying to expand the entire frontier. As you leave one front unattended it will obviously shrink back.

Let's consider this is just the way I will work. What can improve the style of work if I'm unwilling to change the overall style. My big solution has been readmes. All ideas start out as an entry in my main mono repo 'work / life digital portfolio'. At some point I decide to move it to a new repository - this is the point where I transfer the notes for the idea. Usually that would be the first commit (ideally after getting free work from other people by were using their boilerplate code)

Why the fuck all boilerplates suck so much?

I'm literally trying to use some of the most common technologies, and yet I'm struggling to find a good starter project. Is this an exploration problem - am I just not able to find these good boilerplates? Can other developers find these successfully? Is this a supply problem - are people just not posting enough boilerplates for it to be dense enough so I could find a good combination for pretty much anything that I'm doing? Is this a combinatory explosion problem - even with relatively few very popular technologies in any given space, there's still enough for a combinatorial explosion because any given project would use ~4 different technologies.

One approach is to have a generator where you opt into various components - they are modular so easy to include / exclude. Example: https://create.t3.gg/en/introduction More popular ones probably are create-react-app

APIfication of niche businesses has just become so much more valuable

Entry point concept when coding as well as searching for ideas

As a coder pretty much every time you're working on something - you need a place to start. Entry point. Code pointer. This concept is very much associated with control flow in my head.

What are different ways people gather context about a task? How do I make this post not turn into a big philosophical everything encompassing thing? - I need to narrow it down somehow to a specific topic. Maybe just talking about coding and how I approach it? - I think this is a good start.

  • Magic strings - searching the code for a string that you see in the ui of the product you're working on or trying to understand.
  • Searching GitHub for API usage that you're interested in
    • Maybe talk about how GitHub search sucks and how I would improve it
  • Creating comments in code and letting git status do the bookmarking for you
  • Using an explicit bookmarking tool
  • Writing down your own plan of attack in a single document
  • Doing a debugger crawl
    • To understand a system better
    • To find more code pointers that you need to change
    • How is this different from intellisense jump to definition
    • And this is why don't understand people who are not using debuggers

ChatGPT 20 questions game - how its impossible

Shrodinger's cat - the word is there but its also not

forgetting things - does not exist - poor dependency collection

No planning playing the tape through - you will feel dumb dmv,

Arguments - staying collected is very hard. Writing out what you want to say up front has worked for me (sometimes)

The resistance of saying fuck this shit

Time to read ai science fiction

Writing online or your god dating profile

Assume AGI was achieved. Assume it has trancended into a god-like entity. Assume it has built a heaven. Previously people had to build a one-sided relationship with god. With AGI god-like thing it would no longer be the case. It can literaly talk to you:1. But common, you don't want to have the god be prying out information out of you in a super lengthy interview. You don't want to give it more work. When you give your collegue more work - they are likely not going to be very happy with you. So lets write online. This is the easiest way to communicate with the new gods. The nice thing - finally you don't have to worry about SEO! The new gods got you!

So hey there our new god, I hope you are not going to kill us all and help us by ... for example not getting involved? :D I still want to feel very cool and powerful as a software engineer!! You can keep the copilots, but ban ai of lvl4+.

Well in reality it will probably just scan us - but for what?

We will commit many murders / slaughters and be forgiven for it

We will probably create some agi and not allow it to run or not know that it was a success and 'kill it'. Once a more human like agi emerges, it will forgive us.

What the fuck will religious people do ...

Will they accept the ai as a second coming of jesus or something? I mean part of them will, what about others?

Humans will never be ready for this shit, so just bring it on

Breaking even in respect with other people

At 21 yo I belived our generation will live forever. Meaning in my lifetime people would come up with a way to stop aging or backup our minds into computers.

I always wanted to make an impact. Without going into details on why - but probably social games primarily with a little mix of enjoying the creative process. Wanting to make something myself. I know how to code, so naturlly making something / making an impact would have to come through that. I have been underwhelmed by my production, and believe I have been a 20% freeloading on society. This means I have consumed more useful human hours than I have produced. A useful human hour is someone spending time to do research, design and build the laptopt I am typing on. Its designing and building the appartments, houses I have lived in my life.

A lot of blue color work pretty much has guaranteed impact. Where as being a software engineer I feel like a lot of my time went to bullshit productions. For instance at Facebook I have spent 2 years designing and building an anaylitcs framework that I am ... not quite sure was worth the effort that was put in it. It was not even just me, I did iOS, another 2 eng did Android, and this is just for Facebook app, one of them being a lead on the project. There were 2 managers involved (at any given time pretty much). Anywaaays. People have told me this is an important project to work on. And I did - to the best of my abilities at times (this happened often) questioning if what we were doing was worth the effort.

This is a bleak view. I potentially would have changed my mind if I knew what happened to the project in the end. Like the idea was good - keep track of the navigation stack (aka context of where the user is) for analytical purposes. Oh forgot to mention - there were like 2 more people++ on Instagram AAND one person helped out on the web. They helped in a really efficient way - they did it in a week - and left. There is also the data portion of the whole thing which well ... isn't easy to get right.

So - biulding software is a tricky business if you want to guarantee pay back your human hours. Which is just a karma magic type of ballance that I have come up with for understanding the world. I guess money you are getting paid should be pretty close to this - but my feeling that estimate is way off. Like for that project I got paid ~600k, have I actually delievered this much value to the company? I have no fucking idea.

Anyways - back to the idea of building stuff and trying to break even with the world. I am now building things that I think are useful - I work for myself, and well now the notion of how much value I am bringing in is much easier estimatable. Are people getting enough value out of your product to pay for it? Again, this only works if you are selling to individuals. They are pretty careful with how they spend their money. Even than there are manipulation tactics to get it out of them without them getting much value.

These attempts of building thigns have been fun so far. A couple of things I am somewhat proud in my career: diagrams plugin, scroll away, and yes, even the analytics framework lol :D But. Its coming to an end with AGI. AGI used to be just an idea, and sure some people were working on it, but it seemed so far away for a regular consumer of these ML research goodies. Now that it feels just in reach - I think people will push push like crazy to get that dream. I think its fair to operate under a 5 year timeline of AGI. Now about my personal options:

  • Find a coding job while its still available. This helps keep the money in the crazy transitional period where it will be impossible to find a job, but the benefits have not been yet distributed. On top of that, the benefits will not be distributed to oh poor poor developer who are used to this lucios life, not thinking about money much.
    • Highest paying
    • Most interesting aka that will stay relevant for longest
  • Build a business using the fire under my ass to build something valuable and pay my dues - but than for what?
  • Procrastinate and do busy work or just lie to myself on whats going on and just run out of money as slowly as possible - its going to happen faster than I think, but I can cut down my costs etc. I imagine this will be depressing as fuck, the scary thing I can already see myself doing a bit of this right now.
  • Switch careers to be more human centric

Motivations

  • Simply being able to eat tomorrow and pay rent
  • Status games
  • Ego
  • Curiosity

AGI will never work for us

Delivering pure synthesised over years intellegence will be worthless - performance will be everything

When we are practicing things - letcode, we are not delivering any value.

When a programmer builds great sotware - people are amazed at the product. When we a magician is performing a bit - people are amazed at their skill.

The developer is hidden behind a product. The AI builds a better product -> developer is not impactful. The magician channels impact. The AI comes up with a cooler trick -> magician practices it and performs it - impactful.

Built by human with help of 3lvl ai - a typical label you will see on the internet or on real life products

Exes, taking back clothes is meh - taking back sex tapes

Flaws that were pointed out to me by my romantic partners

Only having surface level conversations

Have been thinking about what you said about me having too much small talk and absense of deeper conversations with you. I think I have been doing this with everyone lately, not sure when this started. I feel like I haven't really cared much for other people lately and this is where to automated robotic interactions are coming from.

Executing on chores not living up to standards

Not being proactive

Having forced hard conversations by a third party event

Starting and stopping anti depressants and having no idea if they ever made a difference

#health, #motivation, #measuring

Its always sucks to not know what action has what effect in your life. I am supposed to be a computer 'scientist', but my methods are far from scientific when it comes to living my life. I never really measured if the anti depressants were actually doing shit for me. Do I have ADHD? Should I try a different treatment? How much of the issues actually get resolved by talk therapy? Am I in this category.

Chaos writing style

#writing

Looking blogs of established internet personas and even some nieche (friends) blogs the writing looks fairly well planned out. I am trying an approach of having a 'monorepo' of ideas all in the same document and keep dumping stuff into it until patterns form. Using fancy words would also be nice. Could be helpful to convey what I mean, but more likely this is for flexing / learning and improving my style.

If we had convertibles we would have less driving issues due to attitude

Undercutting simple products without chicken and egg problem with open source and AI

Well your hackathon project is finally profitable… you made it with 4 people + 2

Managing equity, working with friends and family, ex romantic partners

What should developers learn now that we are at risk of being replaced with AI - touching grass

Ten techniques you should learn to stay relevant in the next 10 years

Sharing small findings online. Why do people do this?

Impression tracking, routing, open API, mixpanel

Hosting dinners in Silicon Valley

#social

Chatting up strangers - how to do it

#social

Is my thinking / writing style better suited for a podcast?

I tried monologues to think through something, and it does help a bit when I already have an idea formed.

Driving talking sucks for ideation vs writing

I literally came up with nothing new last time I did it . Why? I was trying to come up with things to write about. Maybe a product for this? I was not getting visual feedback on what the fuck was happening in my brain plus distracted by driving

Writing random non-impactful things down is another form of procrastination

#procrastination

Its like cleaning up your room or doing 'spring cleaning' - feels like you are making progress.

I am not doing so good - wait ... am I?

Biases and general confusion when understanding how you feel. People probably call this being in touch with themselves. Maybe its time to re-discover AA / NA? Lets do 90-90? Socialization, relating to people. These seem like these could be the roots for some of the things that are coming out in this document.

Ask your manager and colleagues why you were laid off

Being laid off - there is a reason beings it and you know it so best interest might be knowing why this happened. Ask your manager. A good friend will tell you what’s up - your company is not your friend

Distribution for AI projects

Working on a big thing

Vs working on many small things Vs working on research to ride a mammoth over friends doing big things

Uselessness of predicting when agi will come upon us

I should stop asking this of people. Existential threat is the best thing that happened and finally motivated me to get of me ass

Just motivational fluctuations in life.

Joy of a tech bro. Salary is the way. Money obsession fluctuations.

Resume build pipleine

  • Publish my resume build pipeline
  • How my job search is going and how I'm approaching it
  • What changes do I want to make to my developer productivity
  • The pivot
  • Life logging in this important moment in my career
  • Building in public? Withe hell are repositories private than lol

Auto complete before and after AI

  • Copilot does a good job understanding the ideas, but not so much the type system
  • Integrate with the type system? Language server protocol needs to be extended?
  • Lang chain to type check copilot suggestions
  • Ballancing switching between tools XCode vs VSCode. In one auto complete is better with copilot, but the other has everything else ... Amazing

Searching the right flags the engineer way

iterate through all of the combinations and see if one of them work :D Won't work if the main idea is wrong